top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

I move to postpone growing up indefinitely

Yesterday I did the cycle of a student-athlete-greenhand. I managed to accomplish a social event, a basketball game, and an FFA Event all in the same day. It involved 3 uniforms, 15 hours, 20 dollars and 1 test I did not study for. It started off as a simple school day,(8 hours and 1 uniform) going to classes and turning in homework and getting ready for my game tonight. I left school and went and got a chicken sandwhich and a gatorade (5 of my 20 dollars spent). When I get back out to my truck and I have 5 missed calls and 9 unread text wanting to know where I am because we apperently we had parli pro practice (2 hours) with an old friend of Ms, Conner's (my ag teacher). So I hurried back to the school, scarved down my chicken sandwhich, and began practice trying to finish math homework and not choke right before a confrence game.

Now lets reflect. I have 2 uniforms, 5 hours, and 15 dollars left, now lets continue. Now after I got my food down, took my practice written exam for parli pro, it was time to figure out which stuff i needed for my contest next Wednesday. I tried on an old jacket (my personal one has not came in yet) got that to fit. Now began the fun part of trying to find my old shirt and pants for a new member of our parli pro. I dug through a mountain of clothes, everything from old socks to brand new dress skirts. A half hour later i think I found my uniform and gave it to him to be washed for the contest (my 2nd uniform of the day). I go back into the room only to have ANOTHER set of 5 missed classes and 10 new text messages. It turns out the bus left at 4 not 4:10 like I originaly thought. So I grabbed my bookbag and got on the bus to beging a hour long journey to play a basketball game.

One more reflection. 1 uniform, 5 hours, and 15 dollars left. The bus left, and I had to do the walk of shame while everyone yelled at me and told me to not be late again. Then we had our basketball game (the last uniform) and we got absolutely crushed. Now we have to ride the bus home after the varsity game. We sat and waited for their game, but first began the bountiful postgame meal. 1 walking taco, 2 slices of pizza, some ice cream, and a gatorade was my dinner and it was the best 15 dollars i have ever spent. Now after the miserable ride home, practice, and school I was just shy of passing out...except I have a spanish test tomorow. Just like everyone else who has had to do this before, I decided to wing it and still managed a c+. It then hit me that soon this will be everyday life. A job, some kids sporting event, and house chores. Appreicate high school and all of its glory because one day it is going to be all over. #AgAdu #PLTFFA #TheCycle

Thank you for reading! Spread the blog!

Ross from PLT

bottom of page